Introduction

The Department of Basic Medical Sciences (BMS) is primarily involved in the teaching of the Phase I undergraduate programme, which spans over the first two years. The main objective of this phase is for the students to understand the mechanisms of bodily functions in health and disease from the biological, behavioral, epidemiological and social aspects. Students are taught to integrate knowledge from the different disciplines into a meaningful whole and to acquire skills in reasoning and deduction in order to solve medical and related problems.

Subjects covered in the two years are: Anatomy, Physiology, Biochemistry, Immunology, Pathology, Pharmacology, Microbiology, Parasitology, Psychiatry, Biostatistics and Epidemiology. The teaching-learning is done in an integrated manner and several clinical correlation classes are held. Integrated Islamic Medical Programme (IIMP) classes are held throughout the 2 years.  In order to achieve the objectives of Phase I of the programme teaching is divided into four blocks in each of the two years.

The teaching-learning methodologies include formal interactive lectures, tutorials, practical sessions, problem based learning sessions, case discussions and student seminars. Examinations are held at the end of each of the 8 blocks and the first professional examination at the end of Phase I. An external Examiner is invited to assess the standard of the examination. Assessment is carried out through Multiple Choice Questions (True/False), Essay, Short Notes, Problem Based Questions and Objectively Structured Practical Examinations. 

Academic

BMS KOM Laboratory Management

Research and Publications​

0
Number of Publications in the Department in Last 5 Years
0
Number of Publications in the Department in 2021
0 %
% of Department Publications from total KOM Publications in 2021

(Source from IIUM Repository)

Staff

Academic Staff

Prof. Dr. Sirajudeen Kuttulebbai Naina Mohamed Salam

Head of Department, Professor

knssiraj@iium.edu.my

dr. Mohammed Imad A Mustafa Mahmud

Professor

imad@iium.edu.my

dr. Md. Abdus Salam

Professor

abdussalam@iium.edu.my

dr. Roslina Binti Abdul Rahim

Associate Professor

roslinaar@iium.edu.my

Dr. Hairul Aini Binti Hamzah

Associate Professor

hairulaini@iium.edu.my

Dr. Zunariah Bt. Buyong

associate professor

drzuna@iium.edu.my

dr. Maizura Binti Mohd. Zainudin

assistant professor

zmaizura@iium.edu.my

Dr. Aszrin Binti Abdullah

assistant professor

draszrin@iium.edu.my

Dr. Soraya Binti Ismail

assistant professor

dr_soraya@iium.edu.my

Dr. Mohd. Fadly Bin Mohd. Noor

assistant professor

mohdfadly@iium.edu.my

dr. Hidayatul Radziah Binti Ismawi

assistant professor

hidayatulradziah@iium.edu.my

Dr. Hazulin Binti Mohd. Radzuan

assistant professor

hazulin@iium.edu.my

Dr. Noraihan Binti Mat Harun

assistant professor

noraihan@iium.edu.my

Dr. Norbaiyah binti Mohamed Bakrim

assistant professor

drbaiyah@iium.edu.my

dr. Nour El Huda Binti Abd. Rahim

assistant professor

elhuda@iium.edu.my

Dr. Shahida Binti Saharudin

assistant professor

shida_shs@iium.edu.my

Dr. Nurulhasanah Binti Mustapar

assistant professor

drhasanah@iium.edu.my

Dr. Wan Muhamad Salahudin Bin Wan Salleh

assistant professor

drsolah@iium.edu.my

dr. Yusoff Sharizal B. Yusoff Azmi Merican

assistant professor

ysharizal@iium.edu.my

Dr. Hanan Hamimi Binti Wahid

assistant professor

hananwahid@iium.edu.my

Dr. Wael Mohamed Yousef Mohamed

assistant professor

waelmohamed@iium.edu.my

Dr. Wan Fatein Nabeila Bt. Wan Omar

assistant professor

fateinwanomar@iium.edu.my

dr. Aniza Binti Pakeer Oothuman

Assistant professor

anizapo@iium.edu.my

Dr. Khodijah Binti Zulkiflee

Trainee Lecturer

khodijahzulkiflee@iium.edu.my

Dr. Nurul Ashikin Binti Muhammad Musa

Trainee Lecturer

nurulashikin@iium.edu.my

Dr. Azril Shahreez Bin Abdul Ghani

Trainee Lectuer

fateinwanomar@iium.edu.my

dr. Mohd Afzal Bin Alias

trainee Lecturer

afzalalias@iium.edu.my

Dr. Mohd Asyraf Bin Abdull Jalil

trainee Lecturer

mohdasyraf@iium.edu.my

Dr. Faridah Bt Ismail

Trainee Lecturer

faridahismail@iium.edu.my

Support Staff

Madia Baizura Binti Baharom

Science Officer

madia@iium.edu.my

Norsyafini Binti Ahmad Marzuki

Science Officer

syafini@iium.edu.my

Nur Hayati Binti Bujang

Science Officer

nurhayati@iium.edu.my

Mohd. Maizam Bin Maideen

Medical Laboratory Technologist

maizam@iium.edu.my

Aidil Azhar Bin Dubi

Medical Laboratory Technologist

aidilazhar@iium.edu.my

Zulnizam Bin Azdan

Medical Laboratory Technologist

zulnizam@iium.edu.my

Azri Bin Rasid

Medical Laboratory Technologist

azri@iium.edu.my

Hanizah Bt. Noor Awalludin

Medical Laboratory Technologist

izah@iium.edu.my

Kyairul Anuar Bin Jamaluddin

Medical Laboratory Technologist

kyairul@iium.edu.my

Mohamed Saiful Fairul Bin Abu Bakar

Medical Laboratory Technologist

saifulfairul@iium.edu.my

Rina Bt. Dahari

Medical Laboratory Technologist

rina@iium.edu.my

Nor Zaimah Binti Abdul Razak

Medical Laboratory Technologist

zaimah@iium.edu.my

Wan Norulkhamisa Bt. Wan Muda

Medical Laboratory Technologist

lisa@iium.edu.my

Khalisa Binti Ahmad

Medical Laboratory Technologist

khalisa@iium.edu.my

Mohamad Zikri Bin Sazali

Medical Laboratory Technologist

mzikri@iium.edu.my

Mohd Dhiyaulhaq Bin Halim

Medical Laboratory Technologist

dhiyaulhaq@iium.edu.my

Mohd Qusyairi Azli Bin Mohd Azharr

Medical Laboratory Technologist

qusyairi@iium.edu.my

Mohd. Fadhlilullah Bin Mohamad Yusof

Medical Laboratory Technologist

fadhlilullah@iium.edu.my

Muhammad Faiz Bin Miskam

Medical Laboratory Technologist

muhammadfaiz@iium.edu.my

Muhd Shariffuddin Bin Hassan

Medical Laboratory Technologist

dinkidal@iium.edu.my

Rabiatul Aqilah Binti Abdul Razak

Administrative Assistant(Clerical/Operation)

aqilahrazak@iium.edu.my

Juraimy Bin Kejoh

Mortuary Attendant

juraimy@iium.edu.my

Muhammad Syafiq Bin Said

Medical Health Assistant

syafiqsaid@iium.edu.my

Naazrai Bin Abdul Wahab

Mortuary Attendant

naazrai@iium.edu.my

Contact Us:

Department of Basic Medical Sciences,

Level 2, Kulliyyah of Medicine,

International Islamic University Malaysia,

Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah, Bandar Indera Mahkota,

25200 Kuantan, Pahang Darul Makmur.Basic